This Side of Jealousy by Lili Peloquin

This Side of Jealousy by Lily Peloquin

This Side of Jealousy by Lili Peloquin
Publisher: Razorbill
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult
Length: Full (288 pgs)
Age Recommendation: 14+
Rated: 4 stars
Review by Rose

When jealousies run rampant and dark secrets are uncovered, the sisters realize that there is a dark side to paradise in this breathless romance perfect for fans of ABC’s REVENGE.

Alice and Charlie haven’t stopped fighting since they arrived in Serenity Point two weeks ago. Those two weeks changed their lives. And Serenity Point has changed them.

Charlie has a new group of friends and a new life. Jude and Cybill are beautiful, exciting, and dangerously seductive. And though Sasha is proving to be a friend and confidante to Alice, Alice can’t get away from the people, places, and events that mire her in the past.

Alice loves Tommy, but the memory of Camilla, dead and gone, is driving a wedge between them. And Alice’s ex-boyfriend Patrick won’t give up on her, no matter what she says to keep him away. Jude is slowly giving up his bad boy ways for Charlie—but Cybill continues to come between them. And then Nick arrives: Dr. Van Stratten’s former intern seems to know things about last summer— things that Jude and Tommy would rather not be revealed. Alice is determined to find out what.

While the sisters grapple with the terrible truth about their family, the one-year memorial of Camilla’s death looms. The tension mounts and sparks fly as bright as July Fourth fireworks. Alice and Charlie are desperate to find out the truth that everyone seems to be hiding.

Is Camilla their enemy and rival—even six feet under? Or is she their sister, whose memory they have to protect? And what really happened to her that night on the bridge? In a town built on secrets and lies, can the truth stay buried for long?

This is the second book in the INNOCENTS series…and the title of the series is a bit of misnomer. These two girls are anything but innocent! The book is labeled for 12+, but be advised there’s a lot of drug and alcohol use as well as sexual situations (not graphic at all).

I could easily see this made into a movie or television series– it reminded me a lot of a teen version of a soap opera. There are mysteries and secrets that go back for years.

I wish I had read the first book before reading this one–it took a little while to get caught up to speed. It’s definitely possible to read them out of order, but I really think the enjoyment level would have been ramped up if I had an idea of what had gone on earlier. It was very much like sitting down to watch a series after missing the first few episodes.

I’m looking forward to reading the first book–and then the upcoming books in this series. The author has done a wonderful job of setting up the mystery and I HAVE to find out what happens next!

Speak Your Mind

*